Yippee, It’s My Turn at Hive Queen!

This month is my turn at hive queen, which means I get to choose a block for the other Bee Inspired bee members to make for me. I had a tough time choosing, but in the end I designed a block I’m calling Irish Eyes.

Irish Eyes block signedI’m Irish you see, and the truth is I’ve always wanted to make an Irish Chain quilt but I could never decide if I liked single Irish Chain or Triple Irish Chain quilts better.

Lately, I’ve been wanting to make something that looks like an Irish Chain but with a modern twist. I’ve been trying to design my take on a modern Irish Chain block for some time now, and becoming Hive Queen this month was the push I needed to finally decide on something.

The block finishes at 12” and uses the No Waste Method Flying Geese method. Here’s what you’ll need to make one block:

White
(4) 4-1/2” squares
(8) 2-7/8” squares
(2) 1-1/2” x 4-1/2” rectangles
(2) 1-1/2” x 2-1/2” rectangles

Dark Green
(1) 2-1/2” square

Medium Green
(1) 5-1/4” square

Light Green
(1) 5-1/4” square

Use (1) 5-1/4” Medium Green square and (4) 2-7/8” squares to make (4) Flying Geese using the No Waste Method. If you need help with that, click here to view my tutorial.

Repeat, using (1) 5-1/4” Light Green square and (4) 2-7/8” squares to make (4) more Flying Geese. Sew (1) 1 Medium Green and (1) Light Green Flying Geese together. Repeat with remaining Flying Geese.

If you don’t want to use the No Waste Method, the flying geese finish at 2″ x 4″ so you can easily substitute stitch and flip for example, by using one 2-1/2″ x 4-1/2″ green rectangle and two 2-1/2″ white squares for each flying geese unit.

Flying Geese units 1To make the Center, sew (1) 1-1/2” x 2-1/2” rectangles to either side of (1) Dark Green 2-1/2” square.

Making center 1Sew (1) 1-1/2” x 4-1/2” rectangles to the top and bottom of the unit.

Making center 2

Layout the Center, (4) Flying Geese units, and (4) White 4-1/2” squares as shown. Sew the block together in rows, then sew the rows together. Trim to 12-1/2”.

Unsewn block with glying geeseHere’s what I might make with my blocks. I just love this, and all the quilting possibilities it presents. But mostly I’m psyched by the idea that I’ll have a quilt that reminds me of my Bee Inspired bee mates!

Sample quilt 1

Now what I’m hoping for here is a scrappy look. So in the instructions above, the light/medium/and dark greens are relative, and not literal. If you look at my sample block you’ll see that my lightest green isn’t really all that light, but it is lighter than the other two. I really would like bright greens, fully saturated like the ones shown here. The greens you use can be darker, but please don’t use a green that’s light or pale. Pale just isn’t me. <grin> Also, I’m looking for the greens to radiate out from the center, from relative dark to light.

The background should be a white tone-on-tone or low volume like the one shown here.

I hope you all like making this block! Thanks for the push I needed to finally design it! <grin> If you notice from my quilt layout, I could use some scraps of green from the blocks you make. So if you could, I would love a 5-1/4″ square of one of the greens you use, or a finished flying geese unit if you’re so inclined. Can’t wait to see what everyone creates!

4 thoughts on “Yippee, It’s My Turn at Hive Queen!

  1. Jennifer, how should the flying geese units measure after trimming but before adding to the block? I’m not great with geese but am trying to get yours just right!

    Like

    • Sorry! I’ve updated the instructions in case you want to use a different method. The flying geese units finish at 2″ x 4″, or 2-1/2″ x 4-1/2″ unfinished.

      Like

Leave a Reply

