March Bee Block for Kate

Here it is almost the end of March and I’m just getting my bee block done! Here’s the fabric pull for the block—I have a lot of Christmas fabrics although I could have used any red or green to make the block.

Fabric Pull 1

I have a reason besides a lack of time for getting the bee block done so late: I wanted to finish my mini quilt for Kate and send it along with her block. Since she lives in England, it made sense to bundle the two together. Well, I finished my mini and it’s cute as a button! I won’t show it here, but if you want to see it, you can see it here on my blog. I will however show you the block I made for Kate though.

My Block for Kate 1Kate choose a block that includes wonky trees and wonky gnomes. Wonky is not really my thing because I’m a planner and wonky requires working without a plan. But I have to admit the block turned out pretty cute and it was totally worth the struggle. Everyone elses’ blocks are so cute, I can’t wait to see how Kate’s quilt turns out.

My Block for Kate 3

I had lots of fun making the block, and you will too if you want to give it a try. The block really lets you play with fabric scraps, one of my favorite things. For the pattern, Kate pointed us to a tutorial by Sylvia @ Flying Parrot Quilts. This block is perfect for dipping your toe into the wonky pond if you want to give wonkiness a try.

My Block for Kate 2Now to get a label on that mini quilt and ship the mini and the block off to England and Kate!

2 thoughts on “March Bee Block for Kate

  1. How did I miss this post??? It is so lovely Jennifer, and as you say it’s a great way to try something different without starting and abandoning a whole quilt.

    Like

Leave a comment