Tu-Na Quilts: This One’s for Velda

I was anticipating baking a wonderful cake in May. I spent the first two weeks thinking about what kind it should be.

I knew I would wait to make it until I was back in ND when I’d have more time. Once I arrived, I opened my fabric pantry and proceeded to pull out various ingredients to search for just the right combinations.

I settled on whipping up a chocolate cake. To help me create the most perfect one, I asked Mr. Google for some guidance.

I found a recipe for Red Wine Chocolate Cake. The recipe taunted, “Give in to two of your guilty pleasures with this double whammy of naughtiness.” That must mean the wine and chocolate or in Velda’s case, fabric and thread.

tunaquilts 3a

Red Wine Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

Then there was The Best Chocolate Cake described as, “A blend of dark chocolate and strong coffee making the sponge deeply delicious.” I wasn’t so sure about the coffee addition but I thought the fabrics sure looked rich.

tunaquilts 6a

The Best Chocolate Cake frosted with Creamy Homemade Chocolate Frosting

I found a recipe for a Chocolate Oreo Cake. It looked mighty delicious and fun.

tunaquilts 8a

Chocolate Oreo Cake with Classic Vanilla Bean Frosting and Sprinkles

Maybe, Velda would like a classic white cake with a chocolate frosting and colorful sprinkles.

tunaquilts 10a
White Cake with Dark Chocolate Icing and Sprinkles

Making good food, just like good quilts, can’t be rushed. I arranged and rearranged and then something quite unexpected happened; May turned into June.  My hunt for the perfect recipe combination continued.

An Andes Mint Chocolate Cake might be an interesting choice for Velda’s delicious quilt. I could definitely see these fabrics using one of the patterns with multiple layers of cake and frosting. It would be sew pretty!

tunaquilts 9a

Andes Mint Chocolate Cake topped with Chocolate Ganache

Hmmm, this was good but maybe Velda’s bakery needed something that was worthy of a prize. Continuing on my search, Sandy claimed, “One bite and you’ll see why this velvety beauty was named ‘the best chocolate cake recipe’ and won first prize.”

tunaquilts 4a

Sandy’s Chocolate Cake with Whipped Buttercream Icing

It sure looked good and was very colorful but was not quite what I thought Velda might like. Besides that, I for sure, and probably Velda, didn’t know this Sandy. I continued to scroll down the list letting Mr. Google show me a few more winners. The Love at First Sight Chocolate Cake recipe insisted, “It will please the biggest chocolate lovers.”

tunaquilts 5aa

Love at First Sight Chocolate Cake with Creamy Chocolate Frosting and Non-Pareils

I wasn’t exactly sure how big of a chocolate lover Velda was; I suspected she liked it from her comment on this post. But then I saw a picture of a cake I once had made—a checkerboard cake. It was fun to make and actually looked like a checkerboard when it was cut, at least that’s how I remembered it.

tunaquilts 7a

Chocolate and Vanilla Checkerboard Cake with Cocoa Buttercream Frosting

After much deliberation, I finally decided on a perfect recipe. Velda, your cake will be on it’s way to you in tomorrow’s mail. I hope you enjoy it.

tunaquilts 2a

German Chocolate Cake with Creamy Coconut and Pecan Frosting

See Velda’s post here for information on where to locate this free cake pattern. She asked us to make her a cake and name it. Oh, what fun this no-calorie splurge was!

What I Learned Today:

  1. I know what most of you are thinking—Karen has too much time on her hands.
  2. I know what the rest of you are thinking—Karen has a lot of fabric.
  3. In reality, I have difficulty making decisions.
  4. I like to put fabric combinations together.
  5. Now, I want to make a cake quilt, a chocolate cake quilt. After rereading this post, I think I have almost all of the blocks already planned.
  6. Chances are pretty great that I’ll still be arranging and rearranging them.

Question: How do you eat your chocolate? I like mine in any form: liquid in the form of chocolate coffee creamer or dark chocolate shakes, semi-soft in the form of Chocolate Mousse, and solid in the form of Ritter Sport Chocolate Bars (they have a large variety of chocolate ones; I’ve been to the factory in Germany). 

If you enjoyed reading this and would like to read more of my adventures and even follow me so you won’t be left out, please see my blog Tu-Na Quilts, Travels, and Eats and subscribe by email, WordPress, or Bloglovin. I’d enjoy having you join my family of blog readers. 

Thanks for stopping by and do come again.

Karen, Tu-Na Quilts

Linking to:

Main Crush Monday at Cooking Up Quilts

Monday Making at Love Laugh Quilt

Linky Tuesday at Freemotion by the River

Let’s Bee Social at Sew Fresh Quilts

Midweek Makers at Quilt Fabrication

WIP at Silly Mama Quilts

Can I Get a Whoop Whoop? at Confessions of a Fabric Addict

Finished or Not Friday at Busy Hands Quilts

17 thoughts on “Tu-Na Quilts: This One’s for Velda

  1. Well my goodnes, I’ll have a slice of each please! That was a seriously tasty post. Like Paige I love that combo of mint and chocolate. Did you know the word “ganache” always brings a tear of joy to my eye. Karen, I am also a huge fan of those square Ritters chocolate bars. My favorite (and the first one I ever tried) had crunchie bits all thru it, kind and like those crunchy bunnies we used to buy the kids when they were little for Easter. FYI I had my first Ritter bar in a train station in London. Do you remember where you had yours….we don’t see them very often here in Canada.

    Like

    • I had my first Ritter Sport right here in the U.S.A. Our German exchange student brought several with her as gifts the year she came to live with us. Little did she realize that she’d have orders to bring more every time she comes over to visit. I don’t find them often around here and when I do they are very expensive but in Germany we bought them for 69 cents each at the factory. When we toured their facility (only their hallway of info), we discovered they use sunflowers and sunflower oil from North Dakota. There are dozens of different kinds of Ritter Sport. My favorite is the Raisins and Hazelnuts.

      Like

  2. Hi Karen,
    All of your cake choices look delicious, and I don’t know how you narrowed it down. I will have to pass on a slice of this deliciousness because I am allergic to nuts (a.k.a. pecans not people), but it will be a wonderful addition to Velda’s collection and quilt. Happy Tuesday! ~smile~ Roseanne

    Like

  3. I’ll have a slice of the chocolate with coffee cake (yum!). All of your fabric pulls were delightfully fun to see! When you put your cake into the oven, give me a heads up and I’ll be on my way so I’m there when it’s ready to eat. Okay, my drive may take longer than that! Save me a slice! I’m sure Velda will love the cake block!

    Like

  4. The cake looks yummy! I like the final color choices too. I vote for any chocolate cake, with a definitive lean towards dark chocolate. You sure did your homework on the different cakes!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Tu-Na Quilts: A Review of Tu-Na’s 2018 Quilting and Blogging Goals | Tu-Na Quilts, Travels, and Eats

  6. Pingback: Tu-Na Quilts: Finding Free Patterns | Tu-Na Quilts, Travels, and Eats

Leave a comment